khcpl logo

Main & South

Mon - Thu:
Fri & Sat:
Sun:
9:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m.-5:30 p.m.
Closed

Russiaville

Mon, Tue, Thu:
Wed:
Fri & Sat:
Sun:
9:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
Closed
9:00 a.m.-5:30 p.m.
Closed

Hours Today

Teen Scene Banner

Sometimes you get in the mood for something real, but that doesn't mean it has to be boring. Nonfiction is full of variety and interesting facts and information- and it's usually a pretty fun read, too. Here are a few interesting choices for your foray away from fiction. Click the cover images to see them in the catalog!

NUMBER 1: REJECTED PRINCESSES

Girls just gotta have fun. Or be pirates. Or be mathematicians or poets or any number of amazing things. Complete with illustrations and short anecdotes about the lives of women from all over the world and all different time periods, REJECTED PRINCESSES bring you the Disney heroines you never knew you wanted.

 

NUMBER 2: THE SINGING BONES

I will admit this one was not for me. Swift tales taken from the original Brothers Grimm works, complete with sculpture images specifically created for the work, take you into a dark world and draw you into the viciously unnerving tales.

NUMBER 3: SAMURAI RISING

A true story of a man raised by enemies who killed his father, this epic biography will take you back in time to find out just how strong you can be-- just how you can be the odds, no matter how they're stacked against you.

Save

Save

Summary:
Colette has been looking forward to her class trip to Paris, and hopes to find out more about her family's French heritage. As she visits sites around Paris, she begins to see a women dressed like Marie Antoinette, little does she know this ghost has plans for her.

Review:
This is a fun light romp with a little bit of horror mixed in. While it was a fun read, I felt it lacked the depth to elicit any real fear of the ghost. People are dying, losing their heads in mysterious accidents. Colette was a hard character to like. Her taste in friends is terrible and she is so obsessed with her social status, she doesn't care who she hurts. While her character does grow throughout the novel, I still found her hard to empathize with as I felt that every situation she was in was her own fault, with the exception of her ghostly stalker.

Overall:
Overall, this book was okay, but there are better horror novels out there. I really wish I could have liked the main character--that would have made this a better read for me.

Cautions for sensitive readers:
Violence: Yes
Language: Mild
Drugs/Alcohol: Some drinking
Sex: No

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly event hosted by Jill over at Breaking The Spine, and it gives you a chance to spotlight a book that you are eagerly waiting to be released. This week I picked:

 

The Chemist

By: Stephenie Meyer

Publication Date: November 15th, 2016

 

The Chemist

 

Summary From Goodreads:

 

In this gripping page-turner, an ex-agent on the run from her former employers must take one more case to clear her name and save her life.

She used to work for the U.S. government, but very few people ever knew that. An expert in her field, she was one of the darkest secrets of an agency so clandestine it doesn't even have a name. And when they decided she was a liability, they came for her without warning.

Now, she rarely stays in the same place or uses the same name for long. They've killed the only other person she trusted, but something she knows still poses a threat. They want her dead, and soon.

When her former handler offers her a way out, she realizes it's her only chance to erase the giant target on her back. But it means taking one last job for her ex-employers. To her horror, the information she acquires only makes her situation more dangerous.

Resolving to meet the threat head on, she prepares for the toughest fight of her life, but finds herself falling for a man who can only complicate her likelihood of survival. As she sees her choices being rapidly whittled down, she must apply her unique talents in ways she never dreamed of.

In this tautly plotted novel, Meyer creates a fierce and fascinating new heroine with a very specialized skill set. And she shows once again why she's one of the world's bestselling authors.

 

 

Why?

 

Yes, that's right, Stephenie Meyer finally has another book coming out! I love Stephenie Meyer. And the last book she wrote for Adults (The Host) was superb, and I cannot wait to see if this one lives up to the hype that I'm building it up to be in my head. *Fingers Crossed* If you'd like to read this book and see what it's all about click here to put your name on the Hold list.

 

Everyone loves a road trip. Well, I do, anyway. And I LOVE road trip novels! They're fun, they're interesting, and they can often add a new style to formatting as well. Like Amy & Roger's Epic Detour (if you haven't read that one, I don't know what you're doing with your life, okay?). So here are a few more to quench your thirst for adventure.

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly event hosted by Jill over at Breaking The Spine, and it gives you a chance to spotlight a book that you are eagerly waiting to be released. This week I picked:

 

Dan and Phil Go Outside

By Dan Howell and Phil Lester

Publication Date: November 3, 2016

 

Dan and Phil Go Outside

 

Summary from Goodreads:

YouTube sensations Dan Howell (danisnotonfire) and Phil Lester (AmazingPhil) were just two awkward guys who shared their lives on the Internet . . . until now. Dan Howell and Phil Lester, avoiders of human contact and direct sunlight, actually went outside. Traveling around the world on tour, they have collected hundreds of exclusive, intimate, and funny photos, as well as revealing and candid side notes, to show the behind-the-scenes story of their adventure. Fans of Dan and Phil’s #1 New York Times bestseller, The Amazing Book Is Not on Fire, and their more than 10 million YouTube subscribers will love this full-color book featuring never-before-seen photos and stories from Dan and Phil.

 

Why?

I am not the biggest Youtube watcher...It's not that I dislike Youtube (because there are videos on there that could keep me entertained for hours... I just don't have the time to watch it. However a few years ago I stumbled across one of Dan and Phil's colab video and I was hooked. Now I watch every single video they upload. This is their second book, the first one is called The Amazing Book Is Not On Fire and you can check that one out by clicking here. I have a feeling that this one will be just as humorous. If you'd like to see what kind of hijinks are in this book, click here to put your name on the hold list.

 

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly event hosted by Jill over at Breaking The Spine, and it gives you a chance to spotlight a book that you are eagerly waiting to be released. This week I picked:

 

Bad Blood

by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Publication Date: November 1st, 2016

 

Bad Blood  (The Naturals, #4)

 

Summary from Goodreads:

When Cassie Hobbes joined the FBI's Naturals program, she had one goal: uncover the truth about her mother's murder. But now, everything Cassie thought she knew about what happened that night has been called into question. Her mother is alive, and the people holding her captive are more powerful—and dangerous—than anything the Naturals have faced so far.

As Cassie and the team work to uncover the secrets of a group that has been killing in secret for generations, they find themselves racing a ticking clock.

New victims. New betrayals. New secrets.

When the bodies begin piling up, it soon becomes apparent that this time, the Naturals aren't just hunting serial killers.

 

 Why?

I love this series, it was one of those hidden gems that I picked up on a whim and decided to give it a try. And. I. Loved it. I am a big fan of the whole murder mystery theme (though I don't like when it's too gruesome, bleh) I loved watching Diagnosis Murder when I was little, and I always had my nose in a Nancy Drew Book (even though Nancy Drew is more mystery, less murder) and now I watch the Aurora Teagarden and the Hannah Swenson mystery movies on Hallmark (both of which are based off of books that you can check out by clicking here and here) anyway, enough of my rambling. This series has just enough action and twists and turns to the plot, that it will keep you on the edge of your seat the entire time. The way things ended in the last book, I am not so patiently waiting to find out what happens next. If you would like to read more about this book and put your name on the hold list, click here.

Save

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly event hosted by Jill over at Breaking The Spine, and it gives you a chance to spotlight a book that you are eagerly waiting to be released. This week I picked:

 

Midnight Hour

By C.C. Hunter

Publication Date: October 25th, 2016

Midnight Hour (Shadow Falls)

 

Summary From Goodreads:

 

After captivating millions across the globe, the Shadow Falls saga reaches its final—and most unforgettable—chapter yet! Prepare to fall in love all over again...

Being a dyslexic witch is a curse in itself, but Miranda Kane’s time at Shadow Falls has helped her harness her magical powers. Now, just as she’s finally mastered them and is preparing to graduate with her friends, a near-death experience threatens to ruin it all.

Miranda awakens in the hospital with a mysterious tattoo that no one can explain. As she struggles to make sense of it – and questions her feelings for a certain irresistible shape-shifter and a hot new guy – the strange markings begin to spread all over her body, leaving her desperate to find answers. But before she can solve that problem, a new one arises: her sister is missing.

Has her sister been kidnapped? Miranda will risk her life to find out. Will she live to share the day she’s worked so hard for with her friends? When the clock strikes midnight, will Miranda make it to her graduation at Shadow Falls?

C.C. Hunter brings The Shadow Falls saga to a spectacular conclusion in this thrilling finale: Midnight Hour!

 

Why I Picked it:

 

I've read all the other books in the Shadow Falls series. It started out with Kylie, then moved to Della's story, and now here we are with Miranda. You could say that I'm a little invested in the well-being of these characters. I've developed a soft spot for them and I can't wait to see how it all turns out for them. It just leaves me wondering if Derek is going to be the next one to get his own spinoff series. If you would like to check out this book or the ones before them (Midnight Hour is the first book in Miranda's story, and the other books do not have to be read first) click here to put your name on the hold list.

 

 

 

 

I am the rare, strange person who wishes for snow year-round. I know, I know. I should move to Alaska. Good one. Either way, the time for Indiana snow is rapidly approaching, so here are a few books to get you in that snowy state of mind.

There are hundreds of fairy tales, and each has many, many retellings. There's no way I could list them all here, so I'll just list a few of the lesser-known ones that I know all of you will love.