khcpl logo

Main & South
Mon-Thu:
Fri-Sat:
Sun:
9:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m.-5:30 p.m
2:00 p.m.-5:30 p.m.
Russiaville
Mon/Tue/Thu:
Wed:
Fri/Sat:
Sun:
9:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
Closed
9:00 a.m.-5:30 p.m.
2:00 p.m.-5:30 p.m.
Curbside
Mon:
Wed*/Fri:
2:30 pm-5:30 p.m.
10:00 a.m.-1:00p.m.

*Russiaville is closed Wednesdays

Hours Today

Main & South:

Russiaville:

Childrens Books

Staff Picks

Not My Idea: a Book about Whiteness by Anastasia Higginbotham (JUV)

Not My Idea artistic cover of person holding a flag

A white child sees a TV news report of a white police officer shooting and killing a black man. "In our family, we don't see color," his mother says, but he sees the colors plain enough. An afternoon in the library's history stacks uncover the truth of white supremacy in America. Racism was not his idea and he refuses to defend it.

Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer by Gillian Goerz

Book Cover of two animated characters in a forest

This middle-grade graphic novel for fans of Roller Girl and Smile introduces Jamila and Shirley, two unlikely friends who save each other's summers while solving their neighborhood's biggest mysteries.

Stamped: Racism, Antiracism and You by Jason Reynolds (YA-but appropriate for 5th grade+)

Stamped Racism, Anti-Racism and you

A history of racist and antiracist ideas in America, from their roots in Europe until today, adapted from the National Book Award winner Stamped from the Beginning.

Timmy Failure: Zero to Hero by Stephan Pastis

notebook sketch style animated character Timmy Failure

New York Times best-selling author Stephan Pastis is back with the hilariously heartwarming tale of how it all started for our favorite clueless detective-including how he got that red scarf!

When Stars Are Scattered by Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed

2 boys walking on a plain When Stars are scattered

Heartbreak and hope exist together in this remarkable graphic novel about growing up in a refugee camp, as told by a Somali refugee to the Newbery Honor-winning creator of Roller Girl.